Skip to content

Scientific Dissemination Committee

The purpose of the Scientific Dissemination Committee is to promote the scientific work of the society, its members, and the field of epidemiology to both the scientific community and the general public through a variety of means, including podcasting, twitter and other mediums and through actively engaging with the journal of the society, the American Journal of Epidemiology, to consider ways in which to optimize function of the society and of the journal for mutual benefit.

Large AJE Logo Color No Box


Nichole Austin

Scientific Dissemination Committee Co-Chair

Nichole Austin is an Assistant Professor in the School of Health Administration at Dalhousie University. She holds a PhD in epidemiology from McGill University. She is broadly interested in health policy evaluation, with particular interests in reproductive health and health inequities. The majority of her work uses quasi-experimental designs to assess the impact of various health policy shifts in the US, Canada, and beyond. She also collaborates with interdisciplinary teams on topics ranging from primary care reform and medication management to methods development.


Sir Charles Tupper Medical Building, 2nd floor
5850 College Street
PO Box 15000
Halifax, NS B3H 4R2 Canada


Matthew Fox

Scientific Dissemination Committee Co-Chair

Matthew Fox, DSc, MPH, is Professor in the Department Global Health & Development and in the Department of Epidemiology at Boston University. Dr. Fox joined the center in 2001. His research interests include treatment outcomes in HIV-treatment programs, infectious disease epidemiology (with specific interests in HIV and pneumonia), and epidemiologic methods. Dr. Fox works on ways to improve retention in HIV-care programs in South Africa from the time of testing HIV-positive through long-term treatment. As part of this work, he is involved in analyses to assess the impact of changes in South Africa¹s National Treatment Guidelines for HIV.  Read more


Boston University School of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave
Boston, MA 02118
Tele: (617) 358-2062



Ghassan Hamra

Scientific Dissemination Committee Co-Chair

I am an environmental and occupational health researcher. The ultimate goal of my work is to improve population health by identifying agents that cause disease and can be removed from our environment. I am particularly interested in studying exposures as complex mixtures. This is a result of the belief that most diseases are the result of a complex process that is influenced (both negatively and positively) by a wide range of environmental contaminants, social conditions, and even products we use in day to day life.

I employ Bayesian methods to achieve my research goals. Practically speaking, the machinery of Bayesian methods (Markov chain Monte Carlo) allows a great deal of flexibility in model specification and allows us to examine exposures as mixtures in ways that traditional statistical tools are simply incapable of handling. This comes with a computational cost (some models can take days to run), but one that can be well worth it.


Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
615 N Wolfe Street
Room E7650
Baltimore, Maryland 21205


Jennifer Adibi

Allison Aiello

Steven Barger

Ariel Beccia

Lori Biddle

Abigail Cartus

Zahra Clayborne

Michelle Dimitris

Hamid Ferdosi

Marzieh Ghiasi

Gregg Gonslaves

Mustafa Hussein

Palwasha Khan

Daniel Kim

Walter Kukull

Joanna “Asia” Maselko

Veronica Eloesa McSorley

Rohit Ohja

Kimberly Parra

Carly Rodriguez

Enrique Schisterman

Srishti Shrestha

Rachael Stolzenberg-Solomon

Steven Stovitz

Jasmine Sweeting

Yacob Tedla

Harriett Telljohann

Larisa Tereshchenko

Kazuki Yoshida