Skip to content



The purpose of the Communications Committee is to coordinate and guide SER’s communications to its members and to the general public. The committee also helps ensure regular and ongoing communication between SER’s members and the organization. The committee has primary responsibility for SERnews, the SER newsletter, for SER’s communication via social media, and for other forms of communication generated by SER.

Follow us on Social Media!

smumford (2)

Sunni Mumford

Communications Committee Co-Chair

Sunni Mumford, Ph.D., is an Earl Stadtman Investigator in the Epidemiology Branch, Division of Intramural Population Health Research, of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. Dr. Mumford’s research focuses on the interplay between diet and male and female reproductive health and fertility.



Epidemiology Branch
Division of Intramural Population Health Research
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
6710B Rockledge Blvd
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-435-6946


Matthew A. Fox

Communications Committee Co-Chair

Matthew Fox, DSc, MPH, is a Professor in the Departments of Epidemiology and Global Health at Boston University. Dr. Fox joined Boston University in 1999. His research interests include treatment outcomes in HIV-treatment programs, infectious disease epidemiology (with specific interests in HIV and pneumonia), and epidemiologic methods. Dr. Fox works on ways to improve retention in HIV-care programs in South Africa from the time of testing HIV-positive through long-term treatment. As part of this work, he is involved in analyses to assess the impact of changes in South Africa’s National Treatment Guidelines for HIV. Dr. Fox also does research on quantitative bias analysis and co-authored a book on these methods, Applying Quantitative Bias Analysis to Epidemiologic Data ( Read more


Department of Epidemiology
Boston University
Crosstown Center – 372
Office: 617-358-2062


Rachel Sippy

Communications Committee Co-Chair

Dr. Sippy, MPH, PhD is a postdoctoral researcher in the Pathogen Dynamics Group in the Department of Genetics at the University of Cambridge. Her research focuses on the drivers and determinants of infectious disease seasonality and dynamics, primarily focusing on dengue fever and other mosquito-borne arboviruses. This work uses a combination of phylogenetic analyses and statistical modelling. She is also interested in the use of machine learning for prediction models of clinical outcomes among patients with dengue or environmental exposures impacting mosquito abundance. Most of Dr. Sippy’s projects and collaborations are based in Ecuador and other South American countries, as well as Thailand.


Department of Genetics
University of Cambridge
Downing Street
Cambridge CB2 3EH
United Kingdom
Phone: +1-319-551-1000



Danielle Stevens

Ginna Doss

Jessica Agnew-Blais

Jonviea Chamberlain

Kevin Martinez-Folgar

Lisa-Marie Swanepoel

Maria Kamenetsky

Nedghie Adrien

Peter Tennant

Qiping Fan

Ruby Barnard-Mayers

Sachelly Julian-Serrano

Yaguang Wei