Membership and Nomination Committee

The purpose of the Membership and Nominations Committee is twofold. First, the committee is charged with nurturing SER membership, including developing new approaches to fostering membership in SER and working with the Executive Committee on implementation of these efforts. Second, the committee is charged with identifying members who can be engaged in SER activities, both in SER’s committees and on the SER Executive Committee. The committee will help identify potential candidates for election to executive positions for consideration by the SER Executive Committee annually.


Erin Bowles

Membership and Nomination Committee Co-Chair

Erin Bowles, MPH, is an epidemiologist and has been a Senior Research Associate at the Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute in Seattle, Washington since 2002. Her primary research focus is in breast cancer, particularly in understanding how to provide high quality care to women from screening through diagnosis, cancer treatment, and survivorship. In her role, she has served as the site Principal Investigator of several large multi-site studies within the Breast Cancer Surveillance Consortium and Health Care Systems Research Network. She is also a current recipient of a National Cancer Institute Research Specialist Award (R50), which provides funding and support to established cancer researchers who are not independent investigators. As the co- chair of the SER membership committee, she is committed to increasing participation and acceptance of masters-level, non-academic, and international epidemiologists throughout the organization.



Whitney Robinson

Membership and Nomination Committee Co-Chair

Whitney R. Robinson is an epidemiologist who specializes in quantitative methodology for studying health inequalities. Dr. Robinson’s research identifies how social and environmental factors underpin race and sex differences in health — even for inequalities sometimes presumed to be mostly biologically based, such as racial differences in cancer incidence or rates of hysterectomy. Dr. Robinson currently uses health care data to investigate racial/ethnic differences in hysterectomy rates among young women.  She also leads an R03 to investigate why people diagnosed with renal cell carcinoma who are obese live longer than those who are normal-weight. Read more


Epidemiology Department
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health
CB 7435, McGavran-Greenberg Hall
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7435


Amelia Boehme

Bizu Gelaye

Brianna Magnusson

Eric Lofgren

Erin J. Aiello Bowles

Fanah Hagos

Jennifer Allsworth

Kara Michels

Laura Rosella

Lauren Saag Peetluk

Michael Boncks

Michael Harhay

Mollie Wood

Mrudula Naidu

Nnaemeka Odo

Omonefe Omofuma

Peter Rebeiro

Robert Orellana

Russell Griffin

Stephen Morse

Susan Diaz

Talha Ali