Distinguished Service

The Distinguished Service to SER award is given to recognize individuals who have multiple years of outstanding contributions to the organization. Award winners are selected by the leadership of the organization.



2018 Award Winner – Julie Buring

Dr. Julie E. Buring is Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women’s Hospital; and Professor of Epidemiology at the Harvard T.H.Chan School of Public Health.

The primary focus of her research is the epidemiology of chronic diseases, primarily cardiovascular disease and cancer, and especially among women. Dr. Buring has been involved in the design, conduct, analysis, and interpretation of a number of large-scale cohort studies and randomized clinical trials.

Read more

2017 Award Winner – Polly Marchbanks

Polly Marchbanks received a BSN and MSN from The University of Texas at Austin, and a PhD in epidemiology from The University of Texas School of Public Health in Houston.

In 1984, while presenting dissertation results at her first SER annual meeting, Polly was recruited to CDC’s Epidemic Intelligence Service (EIS), a two-year post-doctoral program in applied epidemiology. She entered the EIS in 1985 and later became the first woman and first non-physician to serve as Chief of the EIS. Read more

2015 Award Winner – Joseph Lynn Lyon

Joseph Lynn Lyon is a Professor Emeritus in the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine at the University of Utah School of Medicine. He received his B.S. and M.D. degree from University of Utah, and a Master of Public Health degree from the Harvard School of Public Health.

He has published over 140 articles in the peered reviewed scientific literature. He has been the recipient of 29 grants and contracts, mostly from the U.S. National Institutes of Health and the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. He has served as a reviewer for a number of scientific journals, including the Journal of the American Medical Associationand the American Journal of Epidemiology.

Dr. Lyon has served as the Secretary-Treasurer of the SER for more than 20 years.