Skip to content

Past Faculty

“The 2014 workshop was a great success, due primarily to the effort of students and faculty before the day began. Once we were all together, the diversity of research topics and methodologic challenges kept the energy high throughout the day. The students had so many interesting and important public health topics as their dissertation research, and had such great insights about the design and analysis aspects. Maybe the most rewarding part was to witness the interactions between students, with different perspectives brought from different institutions and shared with one another. The workshop faculty had widely varying expertise, so it seemed like between the students and the faculty there was no problem too large. I wish I could do this every year!”

–Timothy Lash, 2014 Workshop Chair and SER President.

“I was so honored and excited to moderate the 2016 doctoral student workshop. My expectations were far exceeded with all the students and faculty thoroughly engaged.  It began on Monday night with an excellent and provocative presentation by Douglas Weed on what it means to be an ethical epidemiologist followed by a cutting edge discussion on stress and its impact on carcinogenesis by Dr. Lisa Signorello. When we convened on Tuesday morning, I was struck throughout the day by how dedicated the faculty were to improving the approach and solving complex issues brought forward by each student’s research. It was also fun for all of us to stretch our epidemiology thinking in content areas beyond that of our own research.  The students brought a breadth of experience beyond that of their doctoral training which added to the discussion of their own research and that of their student colleagues assigned to them for peer review.  Regardless of student or faculty status, there was clear camaraderie and respect for all. I would expect nothing less in our Society! What fun!”

–Bernard Harlow, Workshop Chair 2016