Skip to content

2020 Award Winners


Distinguished Service to SER Award

Moyses Szklo

Dr. Moyses Szklo is a native of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. He received his MD degree from the State University of Rio de Janeiro and his master’s and doctoral degrees from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. He is University Distinguished Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine (Cardiology) at the Johns Hopkins University, Editor-in-Chief Emeritus of the American Journal of Epidemiology, and director of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health Summer Institute of Epidemiology and Biostatistics. He has published more than 300 peer reviewed papers. He has been recipient of several awards, including the NIH Robert Gordon Lectureship Award and the title of “Commander of the Brazilian Government” from the Brazilian Government. Read more

Kenneth Rothman Career Accomplishment Award

Godfrey Oakley

Dr. Oakley is Director Center for Spina Bifida Prevention and Research Professor of Epidemiology, Emory University Rollins School of Public Health. Dr. Oakley was formerly Director, Division of Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.  While at CDC, he and his team provided the scientific and policy leadership critical to persuading the Food and Drug Administration to mandate folic acid fortification of “enriched” flour to prevent spina bifida, a disabling birth defect. Read more

Noel Weiss and Tom Koepsell Excellence in Education Award

Matthew Fox

Matthew Fox, DSc, MPH, is a Professor in the Departments of Epidemiology and Global Health at Boston University. Dr. Fox joined Boston University in 2001. His research interests include treatment outcomes in HIV-treatment programs, infectious disease epidemiology (with specific interests in HIV and pneumonia), and epidemiologic methods. Dr. Fox works on ways to improve retention in HIV-care programs in South Africa from the time of testing HIV-positive through long-term treatment. As part of this work, he is involved in analyses to assess the impact of changes in South Africa’s National Treatment Guidelines for HIV. Read more

Carol J. Rowland Hogue Mid Career Award

Katherine Keyes

Katherine M. Keyes is an associate professor of epidemiology at the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health. Katherine’s research focuses on psychiatric and substance use epidemiology across the lifecourse, including early origins of child and adult health and cross-generational cohort effects on substance use, mental health, and injury outcomes including suicide and overdose. She is particularly interested in methodological challenges in estimating age, period, and cohort effects, as well as using mathematical agent-based and other simulation models to inform public health and policy interventions. Read more

Marshall Joffe Methods Award

Elizabeth Stuart

Elizabeth A. Stuart is a professor of mental health, biostatistics, and health policy and management in the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, where she is also Associate Dean for Education. Her research involves causal inference and missing data methods and their application to mental health, substance use, education, and public health more broadly.  She has done influential work in propensity score methods for non-experimental studies, and in methods for assessing and enhancing the external validity (generalizability) of randomized trials to target populations.  She received her AB from Smith College and her Ph.D. in statistics from Harvard University. After working for two years as a researcher at Mathematica Policy Research, she joined the Johns Hopkins faculty in 2006. Read more

Brian MacMahon Early Career Epidemiologist Award

Elizabeth Rose Mayeda

Elizabeth Rose Mayeda is an assistant professor of epidemiology at the University of California, Los Angeles. Her research interests include racial, ethnic, and other social inequalities in Alzheimer’s disease and methods to strengthen causal inference, especially tools to quantify and remediate selection bias.

Lilienfeld Postdoctoral Prize Paper Award

Barbra Dickerman

Barbra Dickerman’s research is focused on using methods in causal inference and machine learning and the vast amount of data available in health care to improve cancer control. Dr. Dickerman teaches clinical data science at the Harvard Medical School and causal inference methodology at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, where she is a Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the Department of Epidemiology.

Tyroler Student Prize Paper Award

Michael Webster-Clark

Michael Webster-Clark is currently a post-doctoral research associate at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. After receiving his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from Northeastern University, his interest in comparative effectiveness research and the external validity of randomized trials prompted him to seek a PhD at UNC. His current research areas include propensity scores, transportability and generalizability of randomized trials, and pharmacoepidemiology methods.

Kenneth Rothman Travel Scholarships

In conjuction with Boston University School of Public Health, SER will be offering three, $900 Kenneth Rothman Travel Scholarships to attend the 53rd Annual Meeting in Boston, Massachusetts, December 15-18, 2020.

Hailey Banack

Ellen Caniglia

Marissa Seamans

SER-SPC Travel Scholarships

SER’s Student and PostDoc Committee offered twelve, $400 travel scholarships to attend SER’s 53rd Annual Meeting.

Sarah Andrea

Ryan M. Andrews

Brice Batomen

Caroline Duchaine

Rebecca C. Ehrenkranz

Elizabeth Kinnard

Kevin Martinez-Folgar

Jenil Patel

Thanh Phuong Pham Nguyen

Marco Piccininni

Jessica L. Rohmann

Lim Wey Wen

SER Visits You Travel Scholarship Winners

In conjunction with Columbia University, Department of Epidemiology, SER offers travel scholarships through the SERvisits program. SERvisits is a program to engage epidemiologists and epidemiologists-in-training in the Society by having highly regarded SER researchers visit a diverse range of institutions. Individuals from these institutions, are selected to receive travel scholarship funds to attend the annual meeting.

Ravneet Kaur

Xiao Zhang