Skip to content

2018 Award Winners

Distinguished Service to SER Award

Dr. Julie Buring

Dr. Julie E. Buring is Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women’s Hospital; and Professor of Epidemiology at the Harvard T.H.Chan School of Public Health.

The primary focus of her research is the epidemiology of chronic diseases, primarily cardiovascular disease and cancer, and especially among women.  Dr. Buring has been involved in the design, conduct, analysis, and interpretation of a number of large-scale cohort studies and randomized clinical trials. 

Dr. Buring is actively involved in the teaching and training of students and fellows in epidemiology, both nationally and internationally, and is co-Director of an NIH-funded T32 training grant in the Epidemiology of Cardiovascular Disease. She also serves as the Chair of the Institutional Review Board of Harvard Medical School.

Kenneth Rothman Career Accomplishment Award

Dr. Allen Wilcox

Allen Wilcox is a reproductive epidemiologist at the National Institute of Environmental Health Studies (NIEHS, NIH) in Durham, NC. He’s the author of Fertility and Pregnancy: An Epidemiologic Perspective, published by Oxford U Press. He is past president of SER, SPER, and the American Epidemiological Society, and served for 14 years as the Editor-in-Chief of EPIDEMIOLOGY.  He received an MD from the University of Michigan, a PhD in epidemiology from the University of North Carolina, and an honorary doctoral degree from the University of Bergen (Norway).

Excellence in Education Award

Dr. Stephen Cole

I work to build accurate and impactful knowledge, particularly population-health (epidemiologic) knowledge. I am a professor of epidemiology at UNC Chapel Hill, and co-director of the Causal Inference Research Laboratory.  I am interested in study designs and analyses that best estimate parameters of central interest to population-health scientists, such as risk. These study designs include randomized experiments, pseudoexperiments (i.e., observational studies), and thought-experiments (e.g., simulation studies). I have published nearly 300 scientific papers, and more than 60 of them have 60 or more citations. My mission is to be courageous and kind, to make better decisions (which requires me to learn), and to improve human life (which drives me to teach).

Brian MacMahon Early Career Award

Sonja Swanson

Dr. Swanson is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Epidemiology at Erasmus MC, and an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Department of Epidemiology at the Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health. Her methodological research focuses on improving the use and transparency of methods for estimating causal effects in epidemiology. Such work spans applications in observational studies and pragmatic randomized trials. Her substantive research primarily focuses on neuropsychiatric disorders and related health outcomes.

Lilienfeld Postdoctoral Prize Paper Award

Kara Rudolph

Kara Rudolph is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine, at the University of California, Davis. Dr. Rudolph has a Ph.D. in Epidemiology and Master’s degree in Biostatistics from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and was a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health and Society Scholar. Her research interests are in developing and applying causal inference methods to help better understand social and contextual influences on mental health, substance use, and violence in disadvantaged, urban areas of the United States. Her current work, funded by a NIDA K99/R00, is in developing methods to transport mediation effects from one population to another and applying those methods to understand how aspects of the school and peer environments mediate relationships between neighborhood factors and adolescent drug use.

Tyroler Student Prize Paper Award

Michael Harhay

Michael Harhay is a NHLBI K99/R00 pathway to independence trainee at the University of Pennsylvania, where he also completed his PhD in epidemiology and MS in statistics in 2016 as a NHLBI F31 predoctoral fellow. Michael primarily pursues collaborative and methodological research in clinical trial design, critical care medicine, and transplantation.

SER-SPC Travel Scholarships

SER’s Student and PostDoc Committee offered ten, $400 travel scholarships to attend SER’s 51st Annual Meeting.

Katsiaryna Bykov

Andy Cressman

Tammy Jiang

Emilie Leveque

Katherine Ross

Erin Schnellinger

Melissa Soohoo

Karena Volesky

Abdool Yasseen

Harry Zhuang

SER Visits You Travel Scholarship Winners

SER Visits You (SVU) is a program to engage epidemiologists and epidemiologists-in-training in the Society by having highly regarded SER researchers visit a diverse range of institutions. Individuals from these institutions, are selected to receive travel scholarship funds to attend the annual meeting.

Ezinne Akpara

John Mancini

Sypriya Sarkar