Stanley Weiss

Professor of epidemiology Stanley Weiss, MDStanley H. Weiss, MD has been on the Rutgers Biological and Health Science (RBHS) faculties (including legacy UMDNJ) since 1987. He is currently Professor (with tenure) of Medicine at the New Jersey Medical School, and Professor of Epidemiology at the Rutgers School of Public Health.

Dr. Weiss was involved in the founding of the International Joint Policy Committee of the Societies of Epidemiology IJPC-SE in 2006, and served 2 terms as its Chair (from 2010 – 2014). He has continuously served on the Executive Board of the New Jersey Public Health Association since 1993, and the founding Chair of its Epidemiology Section. He is a past chair of the American Public Health Association Epidemiology Section and past vice-chair of the APHA Science Board. He’s helped organize all four (North American) Congresses of Epidemiology, and gave one of the three Presidential addresses to the 2006 Congress.

Dr. Weiss graduated from Yale (1974, BA summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa) and Harvard Medical School (1978, MD). He is a Fellow of the American College of Epidemiology and the American College of Physicians. His professional awards include the Wade Hampton Frost Lectureship award from the Epidemiology Section of the American Public Health Association (2015), the NJ Public Health Association’s (NJPHA) highest award – the Dennis J. Sullivan Award (2012), the NJPHA Dr. Ezra Mundy Hunt Award (2007), the first recipient of the American Lung Association of NJ’s “CAREforAIRnj Award for Community Outreach/Action/Advocacy, the “Cancer Liaison Physician Outstanding Performance Award” from the Commission on Cancer of the American College of Surgeons (2010), the Prostate Net’s “In the Know” National Award (2007), and the UMDNJ School of Public Health “Faculty Community Service Award”(2007).

Dr. Weiss is the Cancer Liaison Physician and vice-chair of the Oncology Committee at University Hospital, Newark NJ, and has continuously served on its Bioethics Committee since 1988. He is a member of the RBHS-wide Conflict of Interest Committee.