Skip to content

2021 Award Winners


Distinguished Service to SER Award

Allen Wilcox

Allen Wilcox is an Emeritus Investigator at the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences in Durham NC, where he has spent his career. His research has focused on fertility and the events of pregnancy, and he is the author of a textbook on this topic. He served for ten years as the Chief of the Epidemiology Branch at NIEHS, and for 14 years as the Editor-in-Chief of the journal Epidemiology. He received his medical degree from the University of Michigan, his PhD in epidemiology from the University of North Carolina, and an honorary doctoral degree from the University of Bergen in Norway. He has been attending SER meetings since 1979.

Kenneth Rothman Career Accomplishment Award

Ana Diez Roux

Ana V. Diez Roux, MD, PHD, MPH, is Dean and Distinguished University Professor of Epidemiology at the Dornsife School of Public Health and Director of the Drexel Urban Health Collaborative. Originally trained as a pediatrician in her native Buenos Aires, she completed public health training at the Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health. Read more

Noel Weiss and Tom Koepsell Excellence in Education Award

Whitney Robinson

Whitney R. Robinson is an epidemiologist who specializes in quantitative methodology for studying health inequalities.
Dr. Robinson is an associate professor of epidemiology at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health, a fellow at the Carolina Population Center, and a member of the Social Epidemiology Program Area and the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr. Robinson currently leads an NIH R01 that uses health care and administrative, data to understand causes of racial/ethnic differences in treatment of conditions like fibroids, abnormal uterine bleeding, and endometriosis in the premenopausal period. Read more

Carol J. Rowland Hogue Mid Career Award

Lisa Bodnar

Lisa Bodnar, PhD, RD is Professor of Epidemiology at the University of Pittsburgh School of Public Health, where she has an NIH-funded research program evaluating the role of maternal nutritional status in the health of mothers and children. The first of her two current R01 grants seeks to generate evidence-based recommendations for optimal pregnancy weight gain ranges. Read more

Marshall Joffe Methods Award

Malcolm Maclure

“I am a ‘case of crossover,’ oscillating between academe and government, trying to combine the active skepticism of Tom and Iain Chalmers with the skeptical activism of Dr. Bernard Lown, co-founder of International Physicians for Prevention of Nuclear War. While I was an Assistant Professor at Harvard School of Public Health, helping Dr. Lown with a peace project (1986-88), I met another IPPNW activist, cardiologist James Muller, who invited me to help him design what became the Myocardial Infarction Onset Study. Read more

Brian MacMahon Early Career Epidemiologist Award

Kara Rudolph

I am an Assistant Professor of Epidemiology at Columbia University. My research interests are in developing and applying causal inference methods to understand social and contextual influences on mental health, substance use, and violence in disadvantaged, urban areas of the United States. Read more

Lilienfeld Postdoctoral Prize Paper Award

Ellicott Matthay

Ellie Matthay is a Postdoctoral Scholar in the Center for Health and Community at the University of California, San Francisco. Dr. Matthay has a PhD in Epidemiology from the University of California, Berkeley, and an MPH in Global Health Metrics and Evaluation from the University of Washington. Read more

Tyroler Student Prize Paper Award

Fausto Andres Bustos Carrillo

Fausto Andres Bustos Carrillo holds a PhD in Epidemiology and a MA in Biostatistics from the University of California, Berkeley. His interdisciplinary research combines epidemiological principles, biostatistical methods, and infectious disease content knowledge to study tropical arboviruses.          Read more

SER-SPC Scholarships


Alexander J. Layden
Amanda E. Ng
Anne Sofie Dam Laursen
Arti Virkud
Asma Ahmed
Freda Mai Warner
Gonzalo Martinez-Alés
Jihye Park



Johanna Jahnke
Lauren Zalla
Lindsay Collin
Lindsey M Filiatreau
Lisiane Freitas Leal
Marine Azevedo Da Silva
Natalie Levy

Sandra Kiplagat
Sarah C McKetta
Trena Mukherjee
Wei-Ting Lin
Yaguang Wei
Yu-Hsiang Kao

Kenneth Rothman Scholarships


Alvaro J. Castro Rivadeneira
Andrea R. Molina
Chighaf Bakour
Cong Wang
Daniela Rodrigues
Frances Dean

Galit L Dunietz
Hiwot Zewdie
Hridya Rao
Jie V Zhao
Larisa G Tereshchenko
Melissa Soohoo

Pranoti Pradhan
Ruchi Bhandari
Saeed Akhtar
Sarah Nechuta
Tammie Johnson
Xiaotao Zhang

General Scholarships


Amber M Hall
Ana Lydia Rivera Almaraz
Ariana Gobaud
Arjun Bhattacharya
Ahsley Geczik
Benjamin Schumacher
Boya Guo
Brittany Griffin
Carlos Culquichicón
Carmen A Marable
Christina Mehranbod
Claire Benny
Crystal Garcia
Daniel Antiporta
Daniel Brook
Daniel Vader
Doris Durán
Emilie Duchesneau
Emily Riseberg
Emine Bircan
Erica Ma
Estela Blanco
Gabriela Vatavuk Serrati
Giehae Choi
Grace Mulholland
Gyeyoon Yim
Heather Camila Tompkins
Heather Mutchie
Jamaica Robinson
Jeanny Wang
Jennifer Carroll
Jessica Wong

Jesus Gutierrez
Jong Cheol Shin
Jyotsna Jagai
Kaleen Hayes
Kamala Adhikari
Katelin Jackson
Katherine Colcord
Kristen Nishimi
Kristina Lai
Lara Schwarz
Lena Nguyen
Lina Dimitrov
Ljupcho Efremov
Marie Al-Rahmoun
Megan Clare Craig-Kuhn
Meghana Shamsunder
Melanie Askari
Michelle Huezo Garcia
Michelle Klawans
Mindy Pike
Mingyu Zhang
Nehal Islam
Nicole Lorona
Olivia Frank
Patrick Arena
Phoebe Balascio
Ramya Kumar
Rebecca Lebeaux
Renee LeClaire
Rennie Joshi
Renzo Calderon Anyosa
Ronit Dalmat

Rudy Patrick
Sam Packard
Samantha Shapiro
Sana Khan
Semiu Gbadamosi
Seth Edmunds
Shahar Shmuel
Shahnaj B. Safi
Shahriar Zamani Alavijeh
Shalmali Bane
Shama D. Karanth
Shilpi Misra
Shue Huang
Shuo Wang
Sina Kianersi
Susan Park
Tara Jenson
Tarlise Townsend
Tiansheng Wang
Tianyu Sun
Tiffany Fitzpatrick
Trang Pham
Ugochinyere Vivian Ukah
Ugonna Ihenacho
Wei-Chen Lee
Wendemi Sawadogo
Yangbo Sun
Ye Zhang
Yi Li
Yijia Zhang
Yiyang Liu
Zhengyi Deng