Skip to content

Plenary Sessions


Zeynep Tufekci

Plenary Speaker

Zeynep Tufekci is an associate professor at University of North Carolina and a visiting professor at Columbia University. She is a columnist for the New York Times. Her research and writing revolves around the social implications of new technologies, such as artificial intelligence and big data, as well as complex societal challenges such as the COVID-19 pandemic.


Michael Mina

Plenary Speaker

Michael Mina is an Epidemiologist, Immunologist and Physician, who is now the Chief Science Officer of eMed, a telehealth company. Through most of the pandemic, Dr. Mina was a professor in the Center for Communicable Disease Dynamics at the Harvard School of Public Health and an associate medical director and faculty member at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School. Read more


Joseph L. Graves, Jr.

Plenary Speaker

Dr. Joseph Graves, Jr. received his Ph.D. in Environmental, Evolutionary and Systematic Biology from Wayne State University in 1988. In 1994 he was elected a Fellow of the Council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS.) In 2012, he was chosen as one of the “Sensational Sixty” commemorating 60 years of the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Award. Read more


Jennifer Ahern

SER President

Dr. Jennifer Ahern is Associate Dean for Research and Professor of Epidemiology at the University of California, Berkeley, School of Public Health. She examines the effects of the social and physical environment, and programs and policies that alter the social and physical environment, on many aspects of health (e.g., violence, substance use, mental health, and gestational health). Read more


George Kaplan

Distinguished Service to SER Award Winner

George A. Kaplan, Ph.D. is the Thomas Francis Collegiate Emeritus Professor of Public Health and Epidemiology in the School of Public Health, a Research Professor Emeritus at the Institute for Social Research, Founder and former Director of the Center for Social Epidemiology and Population Health, all at the University of Michigan. Read more



Alina Schnake-Mahl

Lilienfeld Postdoctoral Prize paper Award Winner

Alina Schnake-Mahl, ScD, MPH, is an Assistant Research Professor in the Urban Health Collaborative and the Department of Health Policy and Management at Drexel’s Dornsife School of Public Health. She is also of the Policy Core at the Drexel School of Public Health Urban Health Collaborative. Read more


Julie Petersen

Tyroler Student Prize Paper Award Winner

Julie M. Petersen received her PhD in Epidemiology from the Boston University School of Public Health in 2021 and is currently a postdoctoral associate at the University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health. Her research aims to inform clinical guidelines for pregnancy (e.g., birth spacing, diet and vitamin supplementation, weight gain) to prevent adverse pregnancy outcomes like congenital malformations, fetal growth restriction, and preterm birth. Read more

Lorianne Dean

Sherman James Diverse & Inclusive Award Winner

Dr. Dean is Associate Professor in Epidemiology at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. As a social epidemiologist, her work focuses on privilege and health, including social (racism, discrimination, social capital) and economic (consumer credit, socioeconomic position) determinants of disparities in cancer and HIV. She has led several studies in this area as PI of NIH and Center for AIDS Research grants. She holds a BA from the University of Pennsylvania and a doctorate in Social Epidemiology from Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health. Read more


Beate Ritz

Kenneth Rothman Career Accomplishment Award Winner

Beate Ritz MD, Ph.D. is a Professor of Epidemiology at the Fielding School of Public Health with appointments in Environmental Health Sciences and Neurology, and the Center for Occupational and Environmental Health at UCLA. Read more


Whitney Robinson

Carol J. Rowland Hogue Mid-Career Award Winner

Whitney Robinson specializes in epidemiologic methods for using “big data” to understand racial/ethnic and gender inequities in health and health care. Dr. Robinson is an Associate Professor (pending) in the Obstetrics and Gynecology Department at Duke University School of Medicine. Read more


Stephen Cole

Marshall Joffe Epidemiologic Methods Research Award Winner

Stephen R. Cole works to build robust, accurate, and impactful knowledge at the intersection of epidemiology and statistics. He is interested in study designs and analyses that accurately estimate parameters of central interest to population-health scientists. These study designs include randomized experiments and observational studies. In particular, he is interested in infectious diseases, primarily HIV, and birth outcomes.

Maya Mathur

Brian MacMahon Early Career Award Winner

Maya Mathur is an Assistant Professor at the Stanford University Quantitative Sciences Unit. Her statistical research develops methods for sensitivity analysis and for evidence synthesis, particularly meta-analysis. Her substantive research focuses on behavior and health and the experimental cognitive sciences.


Lauren A. Wise

Noel Weiss and Tom Koepsell Excellence in Education Winner

Dr. Wise is Professor of Epidemiology at Boston University School of Public Health (BUSPH), where she teaches graduate-level courses on reproductive epidemiology and cohort study design. Her primary research goals are to identify modifiable determinants of subfertility, pregnancy loss, and gynecologic disorders (e.g., uterine fibroids), focusing on populations that are disproportionately affected by these conditions. Read more